Main menu


7 Candidates ... Who are the competitors in the Iranian elections to succeed Rouhani?

Today, Tuesday, the Iranian Ministry of Interior officially announced the names of the candidates in the presidential elections scheduled for next June 18, and the Iranian Guardian Council supported the eligibility of 7 candidates for the presidential race, and they are:

Head of the Judicial Authority Ibrahim Raisi (conservative movement)

He is the current head of the judiciary, and he failed to reach the position in the 2017 elections in front of Hassan Rouhani, a possible successor to Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei, and one of the hardliners who does not believe in the idea of ​​negotiating with the West, and the Iranian opposition says he headed the so-called death squad responsible for a mass execution. 1988 year.

Mohsen Rezaei (conservative movement)

He is a former leader of the Revolutionary Guards, who is currently the secretary of the Expediency Council, by decision of the Supreme Leader since 2007, and he is running for the fourth time, as Rezaei ran for the presidential elections in 2005, but then withdrew, and he also ran in the 2013 presidential elections and got the fourth place. After Hassan Rouhani, Muhammad Baqer Qalibaf and Saeed Jalili.

Saeed Jalili (hard-line conservative)

The former secretary of the National Security Council and currently a member of the Supreme National Security Council, and a former nuclear negotiator who served in the Revolutionary Guard, participated in the Iran-Iraq war, and withdrew in the 2013 presidential elections because he had no chances of winning, and before that he held the position of Iranian Assistant Foreign Minister for European Affairs And America, and began his diplomatic activity as an attache in the Foreign Ministry since 1989 and assumed various responsibilities such as the political attaché, the head of the inspection department, the secretary of the embassy, ​​the assistant of the North and Central America Department, the General Director of the Office of the Guide of the Iranian Revolution and the advisor to the President of the Republic.

Ali Reza Zakani (hard-line conservative)

Head of the Research Center in Parliament and authorization of the committee to study the nuclear agreement justified in 2015, he participated in the Iran-Iraq war. He is the author of the famous saying that Iran now controls 4 Arab capitals, after the Houthi “Ansar Allah” group took control of Sana'a in Yemen.

Amir Hussain Qazi Zada ​​Hashemi (hard-line conservative)

He holds the position of Deputy Speaker of the Iranian Parliament.

Abdel Nasser Humati (reformer)

Governor of the Central Bank, a professor at the University of Tehran, and a doctorate in economics.

Mohsen Mehr Ali Zadeh (reformer)

A former deputy, president of the "Zorkhana" sports federation, and a member of the board of directors of the Kish Free Economic Zone, he ran in the presidential elections in the ninth session and based on the proposal of then-president Sayed Muhammad Khatami in 2005 as a candidate for the reformist movement, he was initially excluded by the maintenance council Constitution, but they were later approved with a message from Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei.

The number of voters in Iran is 59 million and 310 thousand 307 people, of whom one million and 392 thousand and 148 people are participating for the first time in the elections. Propaganda campaigns will begin for a period of 20 days from May 28 to June 16, and on June 17, the country will enter a period of electoral silence.