Main menu


Zey today.. Haras El Hodoud defeats Al-Ahly on penalties and crowns the Egypt Cup

On this day, June 7, 2010, Haras El-Hodood clinched the Egyptian Cup title for the second time in its history, after defeating Al-Ahly Club in a difficult match that ended in penalty shootouts with a score of 5-4.

The original time of the match ended with a 1-1 draw, the guard scored a goal in the 48th minute through Ahmed Salem Safi, and Mohamed Barakat equalized for Al-Ahly in the 82nd minute of the meeting.

The match reached penalty kicks, and Ahmed Abdel Ghani, Ahmed Hassan Makki, Ahmed Eid Abdel Malik, Islam Ramadan and Abdel Rahman Farouk scored, and Al-Ahly Mohamed Abu Trika, Mohamed Barakat, Wael Jumaa and Ahmed Hassan scored, while Mohamed Fadl failed to end the match (5-4).

The date of the start of the Egyptian Cup for the first time dates back to the 1921/1922 season, and thus the cup championship is the oldest sporting championship known to El Mahrousa, before the start of the General League championship, which began in the wake of the 1948 war, to overcome the bitterness of defeat in the war. 49, and 11 teams participated in it.

The Egyptian Cup was not played in the periods from 1968 to 1971 due to the 1967 War and the War of Attrition, and was stopped in the 1973-1974 season due to the October War, and in the 1979-1980, 1981-1982, 1986-1987, 1993-1994, and 2012 seasons 2011 for various reasons.

Al-Ahly club comes at the forefront of the teams that dominated the cup championship, as the red genie is the most crowned in the Egypt Cup, after winning it 37 times, while it won the cup runner-up position 15 times.

In second place comes Zamalek club with 27 titles, and occupied the cup runner-up position 13 times.

Al-Ittihad Club of Alexandria came in third and fourth place, and the Tersana, each of them won the title 6 times, and the leader of Al-Thaghr got the runner-up 8 times, while Arsenal got it 3 times.

In fifth place, El Mokawloon Club won the championship title 3 times, and the same in runners-up.

The quartet "Ismaili, Olympic, Enppi and Border Guards" each won only two titles, and the dervishes came in the runner-up position 4 times, and Enppi and the Olympic team each twice, and the border team only won the title twice without a runner-up.

The Egyptian club won the title once in its history and came in the runner-up position 8 times.

The channel and tram teams are equal in winning the title and runner-up once in each of them.