Main menu


Like today.. Al-Ahly bids farewell to the Egyptian Cup by penalty shootout against Al-Masry Al-Portsaidi

On this day, July 1, 1988, the only elimination of Al-Ahly club in the Egypt Cup in the era of the eighties occurred at the end of the round of 16 matches, when the original and extra time ended in a tie with its Egyptian guest Al-Portsaidi with two goals for each team. Al-Ahly advanced through Amr Anwar at the beginning of the second half, and the guests tied Through Talaat Mansour in the 61st minute, the two teams resorted to an extra time of half an hour. In the third half, Al-Masry advanced with a second goal, also scored by Talaat Mansour, before Adel Abdel Rahman equalized for Al-Ahly two minutes before the end of the extra time.

The extra time witnessed the announcement of the red card of Tariq Khalil, the Al-Ahly striker, by the match referee, Yahya Al-Barbary, for the two teams to rule for penalty kicks, to determine the identity of the rising team to face Zamalek in the quarter-finals a week later.

Al-Masry succeeded in winning the penalty shootout "5/4" after the success of his players in scoring their five strikes successfully through Eino, team leader, Walid Fathi, Talaat Mansour, Hani Abdel Latif and Mohamed Mashali in the nets of Thabet Al-Batal, Al-Ahly leader.

While Al-Ahly players scored only four kicks, after Hamada Younes, the young Al-Ahly defender, missed one of the kicks, while Mohammed Al-Sayed, Diaa Al-Sayed, Adel Abdul Rahman and Mahmoud Saleh scored from his teammates.

The funny thing is that Al-Ahly’s participation in this edition was the first after the absence of two successive editions, the first for Al-Ahly’s abstention from participating, and the second for not holding the tournament, so that Al-Ahly maintained its unbeaten record in the Egypt Cup since its last defeat in 1979.